Hospital Diary Day 2.

I was awakened by a bunch of nurses at 7.45 a.m. reminding me to take a bath and prepare myself for the surgery. I remember not feeling nervous at all, for some reason. All I could think of was food (I was fasting), haha. Typical me ;)

At about 10 a.m. (???) I was asked to change into the surgery gown and  was given a sleeping pill to quicken my sleeping process. I was then pushed to the operation room. There, a doctor injected some tube into my wrist which I would later realize is the portal for antibiotics to enter my body. They asked me several questions to ensure that I was fully aware of the type of surgery I was about to go through and to ensure that I have given my consent. After that, well, I drifted off to sleep…

I pretty much slept through the entire day and only woke up at around 5 p.m. for dinner (yes, we have dinner at 5 p.m.). My family visited for a while after that. And another patient moved in next to me.

20150402_201125

My leg in a cast.

Oh yeah, did I mention that I had to pee in a bed pan because I was forbidden from getting off the bed? Luckily the nurse that was helping me made it seem like a perfectly natural process that everyone goes through. Sure did save me from a lot of embarrassment.

At night, I couldn’t sleep well, partly because I’d slept for the whole day and also because the patient next to me did not turn off her lights before she went to bed.

Till tomorrow :) xx

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

