Goals.

First, it was ballet. Then, badminton. Karate. Scrabble. Chess. Piano. Swimming. Tennis. Mental Arithmetic. I consider myself luckier than many other kids. I’ve had the privilege to attend classes of all those activities.

But I also consider myself more unappreciative than many other kids. Because I did not finish any of the above lessons. I took my parents’ money and time for granted. I lost interest almost as immediately as I gained it. As soon as it gets to the part where I’d have to work a little harder or if I had to take a test to get to the next grade, I gave up. I just wanted to have fun, never wanted to work for anything.

And now look where I’ve gotten myself. Nowhere. Look what I’ve become. A jack of all trades, and a master of none. It took me a few broken ligaments and a month or so of immobility to make me realize how much of my youth I’ve wasted. Not giving my all. Procrastinating. Lazing around. Fooling around.

Then this struck me. This post by HONY and the words spoken by this man touched my heart, somehow.

Untitled

The last 3 sentences.

“You really have to commit to an instrument to master it. There seems to be more of a ‘popcorn mentality’ among students today. As soon as something gets difficult, they’re onto something else.”

I feel that these words have described me perfectly. Since then, I’ve been thinking a lot about doing something right. Finishing something that I’ve done halfway.

Last week, my mum passed me a book. It was The Everything Music Theory Book by Marc Schonbrun, and she said to me, “set yourself some goals”. And so I decided. I made myself a promise that I’m going to pick up from where I left off 5 years ago. I’m going to set myself a goal, and that is to self-learn how to play the piano. From now on, I’m going to commit myself to playing the piano and will not give up halfway. Again.

So. Here’s to me doing something right in my life!


I’ve also decided to do a section where I recommend great films or books or anything, really, that I’d love to share with you guys whenever I come across them :)

RECOMMENDATIONS

Film: The Hundred-Foot Journey. My dad recommended me to it. It sparked my interest mainly because there’s an Asian element in it and since I’m Asian, it’s something I can kind of relate to. But overall, it is a great movie which speaks of the clashing of different culinary cultures along with fusion cuisine. It’s also laced with multiracial romance and underlines the importance of family and home. I rate it 4 bowls of chicken tikka masala. Don’t question it :P

Book: Holes by Louis Sachar. I will be reviewing the book soon.

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

