Book Review: Holes | Louis Sachar

“Don’t judge a book by its cover”

20150513_164809

20150513_164921

20150513_164949

This book represents the phrase above perfectly. A book with a cover like that would never have caught my eye in a book fair. And it didn’t. But, its title did. I was familiar with the title because I once saw it in a Scholastic brochure that was given out to students in my school. The book was placed under the YA category and I remember I scoffed and told my friend, “This book looks like it belongs to the children category instead of YA.” My friend told me that they actually study that book in English Literature and it was not bad. I then dismissed it as one of those boring literature books with an even more boring storyline like The Railway Children which is one of the components in the Malaysian language curriculum for secondary schools.

The book never crossed my mind until I saw it at the recent Big Bad Wolf book sale at Times Square, Penang. And since it was only priced at RM6, I decided to give it a try.

I guess it’s safe to say that the book surprised me, it was the total opposite of what I thought it would be. It started off with a hint of mystery and continued to keep me guessing until the end. And I love myself some mystery ;) This story also goes back a few generations, things that have happened then are connected to things happening in the present, and it’s interesting to find out how and why they are connected. Not forgetting that there’s a little bit of myth and magic involved when the writer introduced Stanley’s ‘no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather’.

Overall, it was a great read. Unputdownable, even. I rate it 5 five feet deep, five feet wide holes :)


RECOMMENDATIONS

Film: Freedom Writers. Stories about the Holocaust seem to get me every time somehow, and this movie was no different. Although to be honest, the main focus of this movie was not on the Holocaust. It was on racial differences and it really opened my eyes on the topic. I never really understood the depth of racism and how serious it could be until I watched this movie. To say that I was shocked is an understatement. This movie has also strengthened my gratitude that I live in a beautiful and peaceful country which does not practice violence and racism – Malaysia <3

Social Media: @cracked.spines. HAH. Look at me, shamelessly plugging my own Bookstagram account :”> This is my new Bookstagram account, on which I’ll be posting all things books (duh), so do follow me if you want join me in my bookish adventures (it’s kind of a Bookstagram thing :P).

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Holes | Louis Sachar

  1. It’s funny you should say that about the cover – I never really thought about the cover one way or another. I’ve seen other covers for it since, and they are nice too. Have you read the sequel, Small Steps? That is really good too, I recommend it. I would say that all Sachar’s books are worth reading, he is a really exceptional writer. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mentioned the cover because when I’m at a huge book fair (and I mean crazy huge) like Big Bad Wolf, I don’t have the time to browse through every single book, I just walk around looking out for books I want or have seen in bookstores that might interest me. Yeah, I agree that the other covers are nicer than this one, haha. I haven’t read it yet, though I was planning on getting my hands on a copy. And yes, I completely agree that Sachar is a great writer :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

