Pink Dot Sg.

You know what makes me really happy? Marriage equality. Lately there have been changes made in several places, changes for the better. Places like Ireland and Greenland have accepted marriage equality, and that makes me very happy! I know it might sound stupid to some of you, but news like these always plaster a huge beam on my face. Seeing all these news about people finally accepting the LGBTQ community makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I can’t even begin to describe this feeling, I just feel so good, and so, so happy for the LGBTQ community :)

I have always wanted to be a part of something this special, and I found out last year that such an event is happening quite near to my home. It’s called Pink Dot Sg, and it’s held in Singapore. Right now I don’t have the money or the permission to go all the way to Singapore on my own, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to attend this event next year. I’ll most definitely be saving up for a flight. I look up to these people for having the courage to take a stand for the LGBTQ community in Singapore because well, you know, Asians are not that open to the whole LGBTQ concept. I can say that I don’t see any movement this big happening in Malaysia anytime soon. We are kind of an Islamic country, the majority of us are Muslims and the religion- well most religions actually- condemn LGBTQ and it’s a sensitive issue. I’ve just read an article about a gay Malaysian having to move to New York to get married, and many LGBTQ Malaysians commented on that article. It saddens me to see these people forced to leave their own country just to be with the ones they love. Can you imagine? Not being accepted as who you are in your own country? The place you were born and raised? That’s why I feel that my best chance at being a part of a community which supports the right to love, no matter the gender, is Pink Dot Sg.

So mark my words, as soon as I get the chance, I will most definitely be there. Hopefully next year will be the chance I’ve been waiting for all this while. Meanwhile, since I can’t be there this year, I will be wearing pink on the 13th of June 2015, and I’ll be tagging them on Twitter with the hashtag #PinkDotSG. You should do the same!

Food for thought: How would your parents react if you told them you were a homosexual/bisexual/transgender/any member of the LGBTQ community? My parents have never seriously voiced their opinions about the LGBTQ community, although from several hints I’ve picked up, I don’t think they’re too keen about it. So I always wonder, what would happen if me or my siblings happen to come out to them? Would they be mad or would they accept us as we are?


RECOMMENDATIONS

Video: Pink Dot 2015 – Bridging communities for a more inclusive Singapore. Their videos always make me cry happy tears, and I’m super proud of them for trying to make a difference for their people.

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

