Relationships.

I don’t do relationship talks.

I’m not saying this to be cool, this is not an ugh-boys-are-so-overrated-I’m-so-done kind of blog post. It’s just that I have never found this topic intriguing in any way. Sure, growing up, I have crushed on boys (sometimes even having multiple crushes at a time), giggled with my friends when cute boys pass by, even written love letters that were never sent (thank god). It was all teenage girls would ever talk about.

But things started to change as I grew. The excitement I used to have for relationships or getting my crush to like me back gradually faded away. I don’t fantasize about being in a relationship. I don’t dream of being swept off my feet by a knight in shining armour. I don’t dwell on the characteristics and features of my ‘dream guy’. I don’t crush on guys from other schools (I was in an all-girls secondary school). I don’t spend time thinking about being in relationships, period.

Now I’m 18, and the people who surround me are around the same age as well, so of course we are all more mature than we used to be when we were, say, 12 or 13. At this age, most people take relationships more seriously. Long gone are the giddy school kids in love, writing love letters to their secret crushes, giggling when they finally get to hold each other’s hands, and then breaking up a month later simply because “I don’t love him anymore”. The ‘puppy love’ days are in the past, but that doesn’t mean people my age don’t talk about relationships. I am surrounded by people who are in relationships, people who are secretly crushing on others, people who pair each other up with their school mates/college mates. And don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against all these things. It’s me. I’m the one who finds topics like these boring and dull, especially when people pair me up with a random guy and expects me to react. What am I supposed to do? Blush profusely? Deny that I like him? Beg them to stop pairing me up with him? I don’t know! And I couldn’t care less. Most of the time I just reply with a half-hearted “ha ha” and pray that they change the topic before I get bored to tears. Sometimes people ask me “who do you like?” and when I say “no one” they almost always don’t believe me. They’ll flash me a cheeky smile and go “aww don’t lie! I know there’s someone on your mind!” and that really gets to me. Dude. You asked me a question. I answered it. No. Means. No. Stop bugging me. Besides, what makes you think that I have to be crushing on someone all the time? Do you think I meet a new group of guys and immediately pick someone to crush on? Come on!

Again, I’d like to repeat that I have nothing against relationship talks. Go ahead, talk about relationships and romance, it’s great, no big deal. Just… don’t do it with me, alright?

But of course, being disinterested in relationship talks doesn’t mean that I never want to be in a relationship. I just don’t enjoy spending time thinking and talking about it. It also doesn’t mean that I can’t appreciate a cute guy when I see one ;)

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close