Top 5 TBR Books.

Hey hey heyyyyyyy. I know, I’ve been MIA for a while now. I was just really lazy, not gonna lie. But! I’m back with my top 5 TBR books! Now that my exams are over, I can finally read in peace. It’s quite sad that after not reading for such a long time, I find it hard to pick up a book, like if I put it down I probably wouldn’t pick it up again unless I really have nothing to do (or if there is no wi-fi). I’d always choose the Internet over books and I’m trying to change that, because god knows I spend wayyyyy too much time on the Internet.

Anyway. Trust me when I say it was a struggle, trying to narrow down my list of 50 down to 5 (first world problems amirite), but I did cut out all the books that I have yet to own, so the books mentioned will be the ones that I currently possess. They’re not in order though.

2015-30-11--16-03-59

1.The Martian by Andy Weir

The_Martian_2014
Source: Google

I was interested in neither the book nor the movie initially, but after reading and watching several reviews which stated that the book is funny, witty and all-around not bad, I decided to get it. I’m currently 36 pages in, but the thing is it took me 2-3 weeks to get there, partly because I was still recovering from my reading slump, but mainly because I’m not interested in science fiction. Not even the slightest bit. Don’t get me wrong, the book (or at least the part that I’ve read) is brilliant. It’s engaging and witty. The character is very likeable, it made me feel like Mark Watney was a great friend of mine and we were sitting together in a café with him telling me his space adventures. The only problem I had with the book was that I didn’t understand the space terms used and I had to search them every few lines or so. And every reader knows that that is the most frustrating thing ever, having to break your concentration to look something up. Most of the time we just gauge the meaning of the unknown word and move on with the story. But with this book, I couldn’t move on because there was no way for me to gauge the meaning of ‘airlock’ or ‘rover’. Even with the help of Google, I couldn’t really get the answers I needed. Yes, I did find out what airlocks and rovers are, but I couldn’t figure out how they worked. I didn’t know how air equalization worked, and not knowing that means I couldn’t visualize the story in my head.

I gave up and moved on to another book, but I still look forward to reading it. Maybe I’ll watch the movie first so that I can visualize and understand it better.

2. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

since-youve-been-gone-9781442435018_hr
Source: Google

I’ve read good reviews by my favourite Bookstagrammers about this book so I’m pretty excited to read it. A little background story about how I got this book: I was raised to only get my books at mega sales and book fairs, so getting books without any discount is sort of an indulgence for me. It’s only something I do when I go out alone, of course. My parents would kill me if they found out I’ve been spending money on books which I can get for a cheaper price (I cannot be trusted with money in book stores). I remember I got this book on the day I watched Paper Towns, which was also the day I passed my theory exam for driving. I decided I deserved a ‘reward’ (bullshit excuse LOL) so I debated between a few books. In the end I decided to get this book because there were more pages and the font was smaller, which made it more worth the money HAHA. Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this…

3. This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

download (1)
Source: Google

This is the book I’m currently reading. My sister got this book for RM 5 (not exactly sure how much but it was pretty cheap) via a Scholastic catalogue we got from school. It was probably when Jennifer E. Smith was just starting out as an author (I see she used penetration pricing, ayeeee, smart). I was actually almost done with the book last year, but I think I put it down when SPM started (I binge-read it right before SPM) so I decided to re-read it again (I’m very forgetful, I usually forget the plot a few weeks after I finish a book). I remember that it was a good read, perfect for light reading. It’s interesting and dreamy, the kind that makes you wonder, what if something like that happens to me one day? It also makes me want to send an e-mail to a random e-mail address and hope that it belongs to a cute guy, although with my luck I’ll probably get a scammer. Oh well. I’ll just stick to the book I guess.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

book_thief
Source: Google

Ever since I read The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, I’ve developed an interest in Holocaust stories. I’ve watched the movie version and I enjoyed it thoroughly, so yeah, I’m looking forward to reading the book.

5. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

Divergent-series-by-Veronica-Roth
Source: Google

Since I only have less than 2 months before my next semester of college starts (ugh), I try not to get involved with book series. I want to read as many stories as possible and series usually consists of 3 or more books revolving around the same story which is not what I want. But I’ve started Divergent a while ago and loved it. It’s so fast-paced I could feel my heart beating when I read it. Also, Allegiant (the movie) is coming out March next year, so I’m trying to finish up the trilogy as well as catch up on the first 2 movies before I watch it.

Well, that’s all for today. I finally bought batteries for my camera which had been hibernating for the last few months. Yes, my camera is powered by AA batteries, how outdated. But, it works, which is what matters. Pretty excited to be using it again, although the shots I’ve taken earlier were pretty crappy, which explains the lack of photos above. Thank god for Google images. Ha.

Until next time! God knows when that will be…

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close