Book Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You | Claudia Gray

TEN THOUSAND SKIES ABOVE YOU
(Source: Google)

Originally posted on goodreads.com/samcherws.


Oh god. Where do I even begin with this crapfest? This is a sequel (to A Thousand Pieces of You) which shouldn’t have existed, in my opinion. I cannot believe I spent 10 days trying to finish this mess of a book. Here are several reasons why:

*SPOILERS AHEAD!*

1. It’s too slow-paced. I’ve read a lot of reviews that claim that this book is fast-paced, and this really confuses me because to me, the plot couldn’t have unfolded at a slower pace. It seemed like there was no urgency to rescue Paul and get Theo’s cure because literally, every 5 pages, Marguerite stops to think about her feelings or has little Throwback Thursdays to her life with Paul after they got together in the last book. Which brings me to my next reason…

2. It seemed to be more of a YA contemporary novel instead of a YA fantasy novel. More often than not, I forget which part of the rescue mission we’re at because this book seems to focus more on the relationship between Paul (Marguerite’s boyfriend), Marguerite and Theo rather than the actual plot. Also, Marguerite does not shut up about the whole destiny thing, and keeps analysing her relationship with Paul (see next point). Which would be cute and all, if it was a YA contemporary novel. But this is a YA fantasy novel, and as much as I dislike sci-fi, I do not appreciate the lack of sci-fi elements in this novel.

3. Marguerite is so bloody annoying. I just don’t understand how she can be so hung up on the fact that Paul is not the same person in every dimension when she’d already explain the main concepts of the multiverse in the first book. I mean, it’s sort of a given that she herself would understand these basic rules right? But no, oh no, she just keeps going on and on and on about how different the Pauls in each universe are.

“OMG how come Paul and I have not found each other?”

“Aren’t we destined to be together in every world?”

“OMG why is this Paul so mean? This is not my Paul.”

“OMG does my Paul have the same tendency to be mean as this Paul does?”

“OMG I don’t know what to feel about my Paul anymore.”

“Wait, but like, aren’t we destined to be together?”

“Seriously, where is Paul???”

At one point, she even leaped to another dimension just because she wanted to be alone with her thoughts even though Paul’s soul was still in pieces. Like, how??? Even I was more worried for Paul than she was! Marguerite, I know you’re not a science person, but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to understand that each dimension represents a set of possibilities. Which means that there are dimensions where Paul turns bad or where you and Paul cross paths but don’t forge a strong relationship, you idiot. Thank god you chose to stick with Arts.

Also, Marguerite is too introspective in the book. She thinks so much about love, and destiny, and her relationship with Paul and Theo to the point where it consumes most of the book, which is bloody annoying when you’re expecting fantasy, sci-fi, and heart-thumping adventures.

4. The love triangle. Typical love triangle here. A girl, her boyfriend, and another poor boy who gets friend-zoned. As I’ve said above, this love triangle pretty much consumes the entire book, with Marguerite being an indecisive prick throughout the entire plot. My question though, is how can Marguerite be dwelling on relationship issues when her boyfriend’s soul is in pieces and her other friend is dying???

5. The repetition of certain details. As I’ve mentioned above, Marguerite does not shut up about destiny and fate. She believes that the same people cross paths in every world because of destiny. But she gets confused sometimes when she leaps to a new dimension and doesn’t find Paul immediately, and it’s like she needs to explain the basic concepts of destiny to herself a few times to understand it? I’m pretty sure I’ve come across explanations of the concepts of destiny and fate more than 5 times in the book.

Another thing that was repeated way too many times in the book is Marguerite’s feelings towards Theo. At one point in the book, Marguerite finally makes up her mind about what Theo is to her, and it’s as though she feels the need to repeat it excessively so that the readers understand that THEY’RE JUST FRIENDS!!!

All in all, this was a shitty sequel, I wish I’d never read it. It ended with a good cliffhanger, but after this sequel, I’m not sure if I really want to pick up the third book. Meh. We’ll see.


Rating: 1/5

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

