Book Review: The Eden Conspiracy | C.A. Gray

TheEdenConspiracy_highres
(Source: www.authorcagray.com)

I received an ARC of The Eden Conspiracy by C.A. Gray in exchange for a review. Thank you to Royal Social Media for sending me a copy! The Eden Conspiracy is the second book in a trilogy. I’ve reviewed the first book, The Liberty Box, to read that, click here.

In this book, the revolution begins. The Potentate finds out where the refugees are hiding and, well, shit happens. I don’t want to accidentally spoil anything for you guys, so go ahead and read the original synopsis here.

I have only one problem with this book. The romance aspect. As I’ve mentioned before in my review of the first book, I’m not a huge fan of the romance scenes. In this book, Kate had a confrontation scene with Will (Kate’s supposedly dead fiancé), and it was horrifying. It was so…fake. It seemed forced. Like the author was in a rush to paint Will in a bad light just so it justifies Kate leaving him for Jackson. I hate it when that happens in books. Especially when I was expecting Will and Kate to be good together because Will seemed so nice in the first book. Ugh. But at least the crappy love triangle did not take up the entire plot. Which was great for me.

This book is definitely way more action-packed than the first one, because everything is suddenly taking off, the revolution is happening, their covers are blown. I was hauled along on a nerve-wrecking journey as the refugees fought for their lives, escaping from one place to another, seeking shelter, and along the way, thinking of ways to infiltrate the evil system the Potentate has set up. I went crazy with worry when I knew of plans the refugees didn’t, wishing I could warn them about the dangers ahead. I bit my nails in anxiety as I watched Kate carry out her stupid plans, walking right into the lion’s den on her own. And I grieved along with the refugees when a huge chunk of them were killed by the Potentate. It was one hell of a ride, I assure you.

Also, the ending. Holy. Shit. I know that it was mentioned earlier in the book, but I still did not see it coming! I never expected it to happen so soon, and at the perfect moment as well! It was such a great cliffhanger, and I cannot wait to read the third book when it comes out, so hey, C.A. Gray, hit me up with an ARC of the last book when it’s available, will ya? I’ll be more than willing to read and review it ;)

The Eden Conspiracy will be out on the 18th of July 2016 so definitely keep an eye out for it!


Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Eden Conspiracy | C.A. Gray

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close