Book Tag: Burn, Rewrite or Reread

Hey guys, I’m back! Although not properly back yet. I’m still in the midst of sitting for my A-levels but since I only have MCQ papers left, I decided that I can probably afford to procrastinate a little. (As if I don’t already procrastinate 24/7, pssh.) Anyway, I’m going to do a book tag today, the first book tag on my blog, yay!!! I was tagged by Hiza (more like I conceitedly tagged myself) in the ‘Burn, Rewrite or Reread’ tag.

Basically the rules are:

  1. Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads ‘Read’ shelf.).
  2. For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  3. Repeat until you complete three rounds (or six).

ROUND 1

Burn: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray. I absolutely hated this book, which is such a shame because I loved the first book so much. The plot unraveled too slowly and focused too much on the love triangle, in my opinion.

Rewrite: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. At the end of the book, I wasn’t really shipping Isla and Josh together. I thought what they had was more like infatuation instead of true love? I did like the story though, so I’d probably change some things here and there to make their love towards each other a little more solid and real.

Reread: The Colour War by Jodi Picoult. Of course, anything by Jodi Picoult automatically goes to ‘Reread’. This book was very well-written. I loved the writing style, especially the ingenious metaphors Picoult comes up with.

ROUND 2

Burn: Generation Next by Oli White. This book was a cringe-fest. Also, sappy romance every 5 lines. Ugh. No.

 Rewrite: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. It felt like there was nothing much going on in this book, the plot was pretty stagnant and the climax was just… meh. The main character is also really annoying. I’d add a little more drama to the storyline and maybe change the personality of the main character.

Reread: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. Oh. My God. Where do I even begin with this book? The writing is so bloody magical it left me dazed and in awe. The characters, interesting and unique. The storyline, captivating right from the start. What’s not to love about this book???

Seriously, if you have yet to read this book, why are you still reading this? Run, don’t walk, to the bookstore and get it right this moment! Go!

ROUND 3

Burn: Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn. This book deserves to burn in the fiery pits of hell because what the heck is up with those emojis??? It was a major turn-off for me. Nope, nope, nope. I couldn’t even get past the first page. BURN IT.

Rewrite: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. BECAUSE MY SHIP DID NOT SAIL, BLOODY HELL. Also because it wasn’t as good as the first book. It was too predictable, which made it a bore for me to read.

Reread: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. Because I read it wayyyyyy before the other books in the series were out and I’ve pretty much forgotten the entire story. See? This is exactly why I always avoid book series. But this one’s so good, dammit!

ROUND 4

Burn: Room by Emma Donoghue. Because I have to choose one for this category and this book’s only mediocre at best.

Rewrite: I Was Here by Gayle Forman. I felt that the romance happened too abruptly. I’d definitely create more chemistry between the main characters if I were to rewrite it.

Reread: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. Again, because I’ve already forgotten the story and I want to continue with the series now that I’ve got all 5 books in my hands.

ROUND 5

Burn: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. Because of the abrupt one-eighty of a particular character’s personality, which I felt happened just to justify the main character’s actions.

Rewrite: This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. I’d further develop the friendship between the main character and her best friend, who was pretty much absent throughout 90% of the book.

Reread: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. THIS FRIGGIN’ BOOK. It completely broke my heart and I was unable to recover for days after finishing it. Even thinking about it now makes me want to weep. A piece of advice to those who have yet to read it: go into it blind. Don’t read reviews, don’t ask about the plot, just read it. I read it with only information from the synopsis (which doesn’t give out much) and I can honestly say that I got the most out of the reading experience.

ROUND 6

Burn: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. Because it was such a bore. Don’t get me wrong, I learned a lot from this book, but it was so hard to get through. I usually finish a book in 3-4 days but this one took me 2 weeks. 2. Friggin’. Weeks.

Rewrite: Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven. I would either scrape off the romance completely or create more chemistry between the main characters, because the romance in the book just happened out of nowhere and was completely unnecessary, in my opinion.

Reread: For One More Day by Mitch Albom. THIS BOOK ALMOST MADE ME CRY. Hauntingly beautiful, it made me re-evaluate my life, especially my relationship with my parents.


Well, that’s 6 rounds! (Yes Sam your readers can count.) I tag Carynn and all of you who are reading (LMAO imagine if no one’s reading).

I’ll see you guys on my next post! (Hopefully I’ll stop procrastinating and get on with my reviews.) (Also, I got a job at a bookstore!!! I’ll do a life update soon!) Bye!

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

