Book Review: The Lesser Bohemians | Eimear McBride

28439263Title: The Lesser Bohemians

Author: Eimear McBride

Genre: Literary Fiction

Publisher: Hogarth, Crown Publishing (20 Sep 2016)

Format: e-book

Blurb: Upon her arrival in London, an 18-year-old Irish girl begins anew as a drama student, with all the hopes of any young actress searching for the fame she’s always dreamed of. She struggles to fit in—she’s young and unexotic, a naive new girl—but soon she forges friendships and finds a place for herself in the big city.

Then she meets an attractive older man. He’s an established actor, 20 years older, and the inevitable clamorous relationship that ensues is one that will change her forever.

A redemptive, captivating story of passion and innocence set across the bedsits of mid-1990s London, McBride holds new love under her fierce gaze, giving us all a chance to remember what it’s like to fall hard for another.

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Other Online Stores

Goodreads Rating: 3.79/5 stars


My Review

I’m not going to lie, the prose in this book, although occasionally seeming poetic to me, made it hard for me to navigate the story. I had trouble understanding what was actually going on, but managed to get by with surface-level understanding. Throughout the story, I kept feeling that there was something deeper that I wasn’t getting and god, what I’d give to be able to truly grasp the intention behind the writing style. Of course, I pretty much skimmed the rest of the book, which told the story of two people falling for each other despite the age difference and their journey together. I could honestly see the beauty in this story, in the writing style, it was just hard for me to comprehend certain parts, and thus I ended up not really enjoying it.

I was sent an ARC upon request via Blogging For Books in exchange for a review. Special thanks to Blogging For Books, NetGalley, Crown Publishing and Eimear McBride. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 3/5 stars

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

