Book Review: We Were On A Break | Lindsey Kelk

30813401.jpgTitle: We Were On A Break

Author: Lindsey Kelk

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Contemporary

Publisher: Harper (6 Oct 2016)

Format: e-book

Blurb: Is it a break? Or is it a blip? ‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn. ‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’ ‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’ There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out. Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug. But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Other Online Stores

Goodreads Rating: 3.78/5 stars


My Review

Lindsey Kelk was an author I’ve heard a lot of good things about during my schooling days. My friends were all hooked on her I Heart series and kept singing her praises to me, but for some reason I just never got around to reading any of her books. So obviously, I was pretty excited to be reading We Were On A Break to see for myself what the hype was all about.

I have to say, after reading this book, that sadly, I was quite disappointed. The plot was very predictable. There were no plot twists or interesting bits. I knew what was coming next throughout the entire story, which made reading the book really boring.

One thing I had a major problem with was the transition between Liv’s narration and Adam’s narration because there was not much of a difference between the two. They sounded almost the same and there was no way for me to distinguish who was narrating until names were mentioned. It would’ve been fine if the narration was changed every chapter but the author sometimes swapped narrators mid-chapter which was pretty disorientating to me.

All in all, this was an okay book. Nothing special. I think I’ll stick to good ol’ Sophie Kinsella from now on.

I was sent an ARC upon request via Edelweiss in exchange for a review. Special thanks to Edelweiss, Harper, and Lindsey Kelk. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 2/5 stars

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close