Book Review: By Your Side | Kasie West

30256248.jpgTitle: By Your Side

Author: Kasie West

Genre: Young Adult

Publisher: HarperTeen, HarperCollins Publishers (31 Jan 2017)

Format: e-book

Blurb: In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Other Online Stores

Goodreads Rating: 4.05/5 stars


My Review

AHHHHHH THIS BOOK WAS ALL SORTS OF ADORBS!!! Being stuck in a library for days with a guy who happens to be from your school and who isn’t a murderer or a rapist? Kinda unrealistic (but then again this is fiction) but it’s a dream come true! Also, you could always say that it was fate, right?

Not going to lie, the first part of the book unfolded pretty slowly for me. Like, just give me the chemistry already! I want to see sparks fly! Rainbows and unicorns! All of that electrifying goodness! But the pace was picked up once Autumn and Dax started interacting, and it was pretty much unputdownable from then on.

“I was not one of those girls who needed to fix broken boys.”

I appreciate the fact that Kasie West gave them their own complications in their lives, especially Autumn’s anxiety which I can sort of relate to. I don’t have it as bad as her, but I do understand her feelings and can relate to her. I would’ve liked to learn more about Dax’s problems though. It wasn’t talked about much in the book.

All in all, this was a light, fluffy read with minimum drama but with good chemistry building which shoved a truckload of feels into my face. Would recommend to hopeless romantics or anyone looking for a cute love story. This was my first Kasie West book and I’m definitely looking forward to reading her other books!

I was sent an ARC upon request via Edelweiss in exchange for a review. Special thanks to Edelweiss, HarperTeen, HarperCollins Publishers and Kasie West. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 4/5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: By Your Side | Kasie West

  1. Kasie West is an automatic buy for me – her novels are cute and fluffy and quick to read. Almost like going to the cinema and relaxing with a rom-com!
    Thanks for sharing – I can’t wait for my copy of ‘By Your Side’ to arrive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! And it’s my pleasure :) Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close