Book Review: The Phoenix Project | C. A. Gray

34031144Title: The Phoenix Project

Author: C. A. Gray

Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult

Publisher: Wanderlust Publishing (20 March 2017)

Format: e-book

Blurb: The haven city of Beckenshire has been demolished, and most of the rebels lie beneath the rubble. The few that remain scramble to communicate with the outside world, knowing that if they are to stand a chance in the coming war, they can’t do it alone. In a last ditch effort to grow their ranks, the remaining rebels systematically destroy the repeaters which help to propagate the control center signals. And it’s working: citizens in targeted cities are waking up in droves. But Ben Voltolini will stop at nothing to quell the uprising before it has a chance to get off the ground. And he has one major ace up his sleeve: Kate Brandeis.

During Kate’s broadcast to the nation, Voltolini unleashed targeted brainwave signals against her, causing her to allow both Jackson MacNamera’s capture, and her own. Now, despite Voltolini’s exquisite wining and dining, she can’t seem to stop the panic attacks. Whom can she trust? What is truth? Is there even such a thing?

Meanwhile, imprisoned and hopeless, Jackson realizes the depths of his feelings for Kate only after he has already lost her. The incredible self-control upon which he prides himself gets put to the ultimate test when he meets an unlikely ally who just may turn the tide in the rebels’ favor—but only if Jackson can put aside his own bitterness. In this gripping conclusion to The Liberty Box Trilogy, new and surprising alliances are formed, passions run high, and our heroes learn what they are really made of. Do they have what it takes to fight for freedom—even if it means paying the ultimate price?

Links: Author’s Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Other Online Stores

Goodreads Rating: 4.56/5 stars


My Review

Wow. I cannot believe that this is the last book in the The Liberty Box series. It has been quite a ride. (To read my review of the first book, The Liberty Box, click here. For the review of the second book, The Eden Conspiracy, click here.)

There is no denying that C. A. Gray is a great storyteller. This book was as captivating as the last two, what with all the action and plot twists. I thought that I could pretty much predict the storyline in this last book, because, y’know, what else would they do other than start a revolution against the Potentate? What I didn’t expect was for Gray to sprinkle little plot twists here and there which, okay, didn’t really blow my mind or anything, but definitely caught me off guard.

“You might have the power to suggest ideas to me, but you don’t have the power to make me accept them.” -Jackson.

The book was, as usual, action-packed and thrilling. It was unputdownable and I probably would’ve finished it in a few days if I wasn’t busy with work and family stuff. I really loved how Kate’s character grew to become stronger and more independent as she relied on herself to get out of sticky situations or to put things right.

“Emotions make great servants, but terrible masters.” -Kate.

I’m still not a huge fan of the romance in this series. It just doesn’t feel right to me, there’s barely any chemistry between Kate and Jackson, in my opinion. Other than that, this was a thrilling, unputdownable read.

I was sent an ARC by RoyalSocialMedia in exchange for a review. Special thanks to RoyalSocialMedia and C. A. Gray. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

