Book Review: Behind Her Eyes | Sarah Pinborough

31285838.jpgTitle: Behind Her Eyes

Author: Sarah Pinborough

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: HarperCollinsPublishers (31 Jan 2017)

Format: Paperback

Blurb: Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

Links: Author’s Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | MPHOnline

Goodreads Rating: 3.81/5 stars


My Review

I know, I know, this review is way overdue. I’ve just been struggling a lot (also busy, but I have been struggling), trying to explain how mindblowingly clever this book is without spoiling anything for those who have yet to read it. It has been such a long time since I last read a thriller, and trust me, Behind Her Eyes definitely did not disappoint.

This book had me giving up sleep just so I could get to the bottom of the mystery. What is happening? What is she doing? Where? How? Why??? I just needed to know. This is the kind of book that you shouldn’t even bother guessing about what happens next because you’ll probably be wrong. Every. Single. Time. Think you can read the author’s mind? Wrong! Plot twist! Ooh, think you got it right this time? Nope! Plot twist, again! When I got to the ending, and what actually happened finally dawned on me, I stopped, the little gears in my brain whirring at top speed, trying to put the pieces together quickly. And then I was back reading, skimming through the words, all the while whispering, holy shit, holy shit, holyshitholyshit- and when my suspicions were confirmed, all I could do was hold my head and go, oh my god, what the fuck just happened? For ten minutes after that, I just sat there, seemingly staring at nothing but my mind going through the entire story over and over again. It stayed with me a solid week after I finished the book.

I think it’s fair to say that Ms. Pinborough is a bloody great psychological thriller writer. Also, she’s one of my favourites now. The writing was captivating and there was depth to the main characters, which I personally appreciate very much.

All in all, this book blew my fucking mind, so why are you still reading this review? Go order a copy now! Or run, don’t walk, to the bookstore to grab a copy! Now!

I was sent an ARC upon request in exchange for a review. Special thanks to HarperCollinsPublishers and Sarah Pinborough. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close