Book Review: Wicked Like A Wildfire | Lana Popović

wickedlikeawildfire.jpgTitle: Wicked Like A Wildfire

Author: Lana Popović

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (15 Aug 2017)

Format: e-book

Blurb: All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love.

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Links: Author’s Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kinokuniya Malaysia

Goodreads Rating: 3.95/5 stars


My Review

This story follows two young magical sisters, Iris and Malina, who have the ability to manipulate beauty. However, they are forbidden from practising their magic because apparently, the consequences would be disastrous. They’re also not allowed to fall in love because falling in love makes their magic stronger. And then one day their mother is attacked, and important monuments in their town start going missing. Thus, begins Iris and Malina’s journey to discover the truth behind their ancestry and the mysterious attack.

Truth be told, I did not quite enjoy this book. I don’t think it’s my preferred style of writing. Too dreamy and fantastical for my liking. Every scent, every colour, every whisper of sound, was described in minute detail. Sorry, but I got bored really easily.

Other than that, I quite enjoyed the parts where there was more action than elaboration. Especially the part where Iris and Malina went off to save Dunja and escaped together. Also, oh my god, the description of the food had me salivating in my mind. The author made them sound so delicious! I want me some of those yummy stuffs!

I have one question for Iris though: how could you not have known that Malina and Niko were a thing??? It was so bloody obvious??? Is your gaydar non-existent or…?

Overall, my low rating is solely based on personal preference. For people like me who aren’t into overly descriptive, fantastical writing, this is probably not the book for you. But for the rest, definitely give it a try. Who knows, it might be right up your alley.

I was sent an ARC upon request via Edelweiss in exchange for a review. Special thanks to Edelweiss, Katherine Tegen Books and Lana Popović. This is my honest review.


My Rating: 2/5 stars

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close